Skip to main content

This award, which recognises excellence in surgical training, was instigated in 2013 by Mr Ben Grey, now a Consultant Urologist at Manchester Royal Infirmary, whilst he was Chair of SURG (now BSoT).

The Silver Cystoscope (pictured in the hands of Mr Oliver Wiseman, 2018 winner) is presented on an annual basis to the Consultant voted as the "Best Trainer" in UK & Irish urology.

Since its inception, the award has been generously sponsored by Karl Storz UK.

Candidates are proposed by trainees from the UK & Ireland, and the award is voted for by the BSoT members.

Nominations for the 2020 Silver Cystoscope Award have now closed

Previous winners of the Silver Cystoscope Award

2013 Mr Kieran O’Flynn - Salford Royal Hospital  
2014 Mr Tim Terry - Leicester General Hospital  
2015 Mr Owen Hughes - University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff  
2016 The late Prof Rob Pickard - Freeman Hospital, Newcastle upon Tyne  

Prof Shamim Khan (left of picture) - Guy's Hospital, London - receiving his award from Kieran O'Flynn, President of BAUS during the 2017 BAUS Annual Scientific Meeting at the Scottish Exhibition Campus (SEC) in Glasgow


Mr Oliver Wiseman (right of picture) - Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge - receiving his award from Jonathan Noël, BSoT Chair, during the 2018 BAUS Annual Scientific Meeting at The BT Convention Centre in Liverpool

2019 Mr Herman Fernando (right of picture) - Royal Stoke University Hospital, North Midlands - receiving his award from Luke Forster, BSoT Chair, during the 2019 BAUS Annual Scientific Meeting at the Scottish Exhibition Campus (SEC) in Glasgow
2020 Mr Hari Ratan - Nottingham University Hospital, West Midlands
Image not currently available ...