Skip to main content

Executive Committee

Endourology encompasses the treatment of urinary tract stone disease, but it also includes the endourological treatment of other benign diseases of the upper urinary tract using minimally-invasive techniques.

The Section of Endourology was formed in 2002. It developed from the British Society for Endourology, which was a separate organisation independent of BAUS. The Section aims to improve standards and quality of practice within the sub-specialty by promoting training, research and development. In 2009 the Section set up a Patient Advisory Group. The Section usually organises one scientific meeting each year and oversees a series of training courses. The Executive Committee is responsible for the organisation, financial administration and running of the Section.

Members of the Executive Committee

Elected Officers

Mr Subu Subramoniam - Chair

Email Subu  or  Subu on X (formerly Twitter)

Subu is a Consultant Urological Surgeon (and Lead for Stone Surgery) at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham who joined the team in January 2018 and was elected to Vice-Chair from 2022, taking over as Chair in 2024. 

He specialises in complex stone surgery and upper tract laparoscopy. He is passionate about teaching keyhole surgery to trainees, and mentoring colleagues on all aspects of endourology. As a keen teacher and researcher, he has published more than 20 articles, two textbook chapters and a Cochrane review.

Mr Hari Ratan - Vice Chair

Email Hari  or  Hari on X (formerly Twitter

Hari is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at Nottingham City Hospital.  He joined the team in January 2018 and was elected Secretary from 2022.   

He trained in the East Midlands and, after three years as a Consultant in Derby, he moved to Nottingham. He has extensive experience in innovative surgical procedures for kidney stone disease, including mini-PCNL and flexible ureterorenoscopy.

His other areas of interest are testicular cancer and benign disease of the prostate.

Mr Jake Patterson (Secretary)

Email Jake  or  Jake on X (formerly Twitter)

Jake is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield.

He was an Executive Committee Member from 2018 to 2022 and re-joined the Team in 2024 after being elected as Secretary.

Other Elected Members

Mr Feras Al Jaafari (Member: 2022 to 2024)

Email Feras  or  Feras on X (formerly Twitter)

Feras is a consultant urologist at NHS Fife, Scotland and joined the team in 2022.  He has a special interest in the urolithiasis, BPH and the minimally invasive management of ureteric strictures (endoluminal and extra-anatomical stents). He has a particular passion in the patient centric approach for treating BPH. He is a keen educator and had organised multiple BPH training events with international attendance.

In his free time he practises Shotokan Karate (2nd Dan Black Belt) and does enjoy a round of golf when the sun decides to make an appearance in Scotland 

Mr Matthew Bultitude (Member: 2022 to 2024)

Email Matt  or  Matt on X (formerly Twitter)

Matt is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at Guy's and St Thomas' Hospital in London, and joined the team in 2022.  

He is a general urologist and high volume stone surgeon with special interest in cystinuria and endoscopic upper tract TCC management. He was Clinical Lead for Urology and is currently Clinical Director for Transplantation, Nephrology and Urology at Guy's.

Generally enjoys most things to do with IT as well as sport, and is a regular at The Oval watching Surrey and England cricket.

Miss Rashmi Singh (Member: 2022 to 2024)

Email Rashmi  or  Rashmi on X (formerly Twitter)

Rashmi is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at Kingston Hospital NHS Foundation Trust in Surrey and joined the team in 2022.

Her practice is general urology and endourology. She also works at St George's University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust managing complex tertiary referral endourology and stone patients.  Rashmi is a keen teacher and trainer; she is the TPD for the Foundation Programme at Kingston Hospital and for the South London Urology Specialist Registrar rotation.  In her spare time, Rashmi enjoys cooking, travelling, playing tennis and being a mum.

Ms Kim Davenport (Member: from Jan 2023)

Email Kim  or  Kim on X (formerly Twitter)

Kim is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at Cheltenham General Hospital and joined the team in January 2023.

Mr Alistair Rogers (Member: from January 2023)

Email Alistair Rogers  or  Alistair on X (formerly Twitter)

Alistair is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at Freeman Hospital, Newcastle upon Tyne and joined the team in January 2023. 

He specialises in kidney stone surgery and laparoscopic nephrectomy has particular interests in teaching, research into the management of kidney stones and the urological aspects of renal transplantation.

Mr Ninaad Awsare (Member: from January 2024)

Email Ninaad  or  Ninaad on X (formerly Twitter)

Ninaad is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at Mersey and West Lancashire NHS Trust in Merseyside and joined the team in January 2024.

He works as a general Urologist with a special interest in the management of BPH and Urolithiasis, including Urolift® and metabolic stone prevention. He has been the Clinical Lead for Urology and Chair of the Cheshire and Wirral Benign Urology Area Network.

Co-opted & Ex Officio Members

Mr Richard Hindley (Co-opted: from June 2023)

Email Richard  or  Richard on X (formerly Twitter).

Richard is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at the North Hampshire Hospital, Basingstoke and joined the team in June 2023 as a representative of the general endourology community. He is the lead surgeon in the UK for Rezum steam treatment for BPH and, in 2018, was appointed Visiting Professor of Knowledge Exchange for Winchester University in the Health and Wellbeing Research Group. He has recently been appointed as Chair of the GIRFT Academy for bladder outlet obstruction.

Miss Louise Paramore (BSoT Representative: from 2023)

Email Louise  or  Louise on X (formerly Twitter)

Louise is an ST6 trainee within the Kent, Surrey and Sussex Deanery with an interest in Endourology and will be representing trainees on the committee. Louise is committed to improving sub-specialist training in this area. In her spare time she likes to travel, spend time with friends and family and play netball.  Louisa joined the team in June 2023.

Mr Shabi Ahmad (BAUS Trustee)

Email Shabi  or  Shabi on X (formerly Twitter)

Shabi Ahmad is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at Sandwell District Hospital, West Bromwich.

He was appointed Honorary Treasurer Elect in June 2023 and is the Trustee's representative on this Committee.

Dr Marie Edison (BURST Representative: from Feb 2024)

Email Marie  or  Marie on X (formerly Twitter)

Marie is an urology registrar in London and represents the British Urology Researchers in Surgical Training (BURST) Research Collaborative. Her roles in the collaborative include education, BJUI podcasts, events, and the upcoming RESCUE project, which aims to be one of BURST’s first interventional studies to determine the diagnostic accuracy and utility of point of care ultrasound (POCUS) for the assessment of testicular torsion.

Outside work, Marie enjoys dropping from the ceiling doing aerial gymnastics, and tries not to end up as a trauma call for her colleagues. She loves musicals and occasionally makes attempts to resurrect her baking skills.

Dr Sandeep Pathak (BSUR Representative: from Sep 2023)

Email Sandeep Pathak

Sandeep is a Consultant Radiologist working with the NHS Clinical Enterpreneur Programme. 

Sandeep was nominated by the Committee of the British Society of Urogenital Radiology (BSUR) as their representative on the Committee in September 2023.