Skip to main content

Executive Committee

The Section was formed in 2003. Originally called the Section of Female and Reconstructive Urology, it was renamed in June 2009. Its aim is to promote the highest standards in female urology in the United Kingdom.

The Section's main function is to set and raise standards by:

  • producing guidelines, often in collaboration with other groups;
  • promoting training and research; and
  • organising clinical meetings.

Since 2009, the Section's annual meeting has been held immediately before the BAUS Annual Scientific Meeting each June.

Members of the Executive Committee

Elected Officers

Mr Arun Sahai (Chair)

Email Arun Arun on X

Arun is a Consultant Urological Surgeon specialising in functional urology (bladder dysfunction, incontinence, uro-neurology and urinary tract reconstruction) and he is a Honorary Senior Lecturer at Guy’s and St Thomas’ Hospitals NHS Trust. Arun joined the team as a Committee Member in 2018 and was elected to Vice Chair in 2023. 

Arun has a strong academic interest and his current research is related to overactive bladder. He is a keen teacher and is responsible for urology undergraduate education at Guy’s, King’s and St Thomas' Hospital.

Mr Mohammed Belal (Immediate Past Chair)

Email Mo Mo on X

Mohammed is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, Birmingham and joined the team in 2017.  Mo was elected to Vice Chair in 2021 before taking over as Chair in 2022.   

He is the clinical lead for female functional and reconstruction urology at QE University Hospital Birmingham.

Miss Suzanne Biers (Secretary)

Email Suzanne Suzanne on X

Suzanne is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge and joined the team in 2017. She is active in postgraduate medical teaching and is co-lead for the Anglia Ruskin University Urology Masters degree. 

As well as teaching, Suzanne is involved in local audit projects, a member of the Data and Ethics Monitoring Group for NIHR trial, and a sub-investigator on national trials. Her main clinical interests lie in the management of voiding dysfunction and incontinence in both men and women.

Other Elected Members

Mr Hashim Hashim (Member: from 2021)

Email Hashim Hashim on X

Hashim is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at at the Bristol Urological Institute, Southmead Hospital, Bristol and joined the team in 2021. He is a committee member of the European Association of Urology Section of Female & Functional Urology, and Associate Editor of the journal Neuro-urology and Urodynamics.

He has authored over 60 peer-reviewed articles, seven books and more than 40 book chapters. ... click for email contact or  to follow him on X (formerly Twitter)

Miss Magda Kujawa (Member: from 2021)

Email Magda Magda on X

Magda is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at Stepping Hill Hospital, Stockport.

Ms Mahreen Pakzad (Member: from 2020)

Email Mahreen Mahreen on X

Mahreen is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at University College Hospital, London; she joined the team in 2020. She specialises in anti-incontinence treatment, including sacral neuromodulation and Botox injections. She also works at The National Hospital of Neurology and Neurosurgery with patients who have bladder problems caused by neurological disease. She has a special interest in the treatment of recurrent urinary tract Infection.

Mr Nadir Osman (Member: from Jan 2023)

Email Nadir Nadir on X

Nadir is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at  the Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield, and joined the team in January 2023 ... click for email contact or  to follow him on X (formerly Twitter).

Mr James Moore (Member: from Jan 2024)

Email James Moore

James is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at Eastbourne District General Hospital and joined the team in January 2024. 

Miss Mehwash Nadeem (Member: from Jan 2024)

Email Mehwash Nadeem

Mehwash is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at  the James Cook University Hospital, Middlesbrough, and joined the team in January 2024.

Co-opted & Ex Officio Members

Mr Andrew Kozan (BSoT Representative: from 2022)

Email Andy Andrew on X

Andy was previously the BSoT Regional Representative for Yorkshire and Humber, and was elected as the BSoT Representative on the FNUU Executive Committee in October 2022. 

Andy is a specialist trainee at St James's Hospital, Leeds.

Ms Karen Ward (British Society of Urogynaecology, BSUG, Representative: from 2022)

Email Karen Ward

Karen is a Consultant Gynaecologist and Urogynaecologist for the Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust as well as Clinical Lead for the Manchester Mesh Service. 

She joined the team in 2021.